8 Missouri public safety officials honored

Written by Muleskinner Staff

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo., AP) — Eight Missouri public safety officials have been honored with the state’s Medal of Valor.
The medals were presented Thursday in the governor’s office. The awards are based on the recommendations of a special review board.
Among those receiving the medal was St. Louis Police officer Daryl Hall, who was killed in April 2011 when he confronted a suspect after hearing shots in a nightclub while off-duty.
Others honored were Joseph Heath of St. John’s Ambulance Service; Jeffrey Elliot of the Springfield Fire Department; Thomas Bacon Jr. of the Pattonville Fire Protection District; James Cooksey Jr. of the Missouri State Highway Patrol; Robert Siscel of the Sunset Hills Police Department; Curtis Bohanan of the Jefferson City Police Department; and Christopher Suchanek of the Cole County Sherriff’s Department.