Lettow named NCAA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

Written by Muleskinner Staff

(WARRENSBURG, Mo.) — Former Central Missouri track and field standout Lindsay Lettow was named the NCAA Division II Female Scholar Athlete of the Year.
The NCAA Division II Conference Commissioner’s Association made the announcement Wednesday night.
Lettow was also recently named an NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award winner. The Urbandale, Iowa, native completed her UCM career last spring as a four-time national champion and 16-time All-American. She also placed eighth in the heptathlon at last summer’s U.S. Olympic Track & Field Team Trials.
She became just the third student-athlete in MIAA history to win the Ken B. Jones Award two times as the conference’s top female student-athlete. She was a four-time United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association Field Athlete of the Year and won the Dr. Peggy Martin Award as Central Missouri’s top female senior student-athlete.
She made the Dean’s List at UCM every semester and graduated with a 3.84 GPA in psychology and was awarded a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship, one of only 29 female student-athletes in the country to be awarded the scholarship from the 2011-12 winter season.
She was a Conference Commissioner’s Association Regional Scholar-Athlete of the Year last year.
Lettow was an active member of the Central Missouri Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, the Mules and Jennies Literacy Team, volunteered at nursing and veterans homes in Warrensburg and continues to sing the national anthem at UCM sporting events.
Additionally, Shawn Boss was named a Regional Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Boss won the MIAA’s Ken B. Jones Award as the conference’s top male student-athlete. He won the Vernon Kennedy Award as UCM’s top male senior student-athlete. He earned All-America honors with a runner-up finish in the heptathlon at last year’s NCAA-II Indoor Championships.
The Oak Grove, Mo., native graduated with a 4.0 GPA in computer information systems and was awarded the Elite 89 Award for having the highest GPA of all competitors at the NCAA-II Indoor Track & Field Championships.